Use code FREEUKSHIPPING at checkout

    Valid from 00.00am 23.03.2018 until 23.59pm 26.02.2018 Discount will be applied to UK Standard Delivery Only. Minimum spend £50 Orders and items over 2kg are courier only to ensure safe delivery.

Strand of Oaks: Hard Love

Hard Love

Strand of Oaks

  • US $23.99  

  • Release Date 17 February 2017
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Vinyl LP
Dead Oceans

Tim Showalter’s latest release as Strand Of Oaks, ‘Hard Love’, emanates an unabashed, raw and manic energy that embodies both the songs and the songwriter behind them: “For me, there are always two forces at work: the side that’s constantly on the hunt for the perfect song, and the side that’s naked in the desert screaming at the moon. It’s about finding a place where neither side is compromised, only elevated.”

Drawing from his love of Creation Records, Trojan dub compilations and Jane’s Addiction and informed by a particularly wild time at Australia’s Boogie Festival, he sought to create a record that would merge all of these influences while evoking something new and visceral. These influences coupled with an uninhibited and collaborative studio experience moved an initial concept for a singularly feel-good record to something more complex and real.

As much as Showalter wants this record to seem like a party, it’s more than that. It feels like living. “You went away… you went searching… came back tired of looking” is how Showalter begins the title track, a sentiment that epitomizes Showalter’s own mentality in beginning ‘Hard Love’. As the record progresses, so do the themes of dissatisfaction and frustration with love, family, success and aging, both in personal experience and songwriting.


  1. Hard Love
  2. Radio Kids
  3. Everything
  4. Salt Brothers
  5. On The Hill
  6. Cry
  7. Quit It
  8. Rest of It
  9. Taking Acid And Talking With My Brother