Merchandise: A Corpse Wired For Sound: LP

A Corpse Wired For Sound: LP


  • US $19.99  

  • Release Date 23 September 2016
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Vinyl LP

Includes digital download code.

Galvanized by Tampa hardcore and inspired by its miscreant noise, ‘A Corpse Wired For Sound’ signals a new chapter for Merchandise.

Their second for album 4AD, Merchandise have stripped back to the core of Carson Cox (vocals, electronics), Dave Vassalotti (guitar, electronics) and Pat Brady (bass) to make ‘A Corpse Wired For Sound’.

The trio travelled to Rosà, Italy to start proceedings, recording half in a studio there and the rest at home, in Tampa as well as in Cox’s newly adopted bases of New York and Berlin.

The album’s metallic title is inspired by a science fiction short story by JG Ballard but equally sums up the band’s current state of mind; “We were ‘reborn’ as a rock band for our last record [‘After The End],” says Vassalotti, “and then we straightup died again. It couldn’t last. The result is this distended corpse responding to you from both sides of the Atlantic, forever singing in spite of everything.”

Featuring the tracks ‘Flower Of Sex’ and ‘End Of The Week’, ‘A Corpse Wired For Sound is available on CD and LP.


  1. Flower Of Sex
  2. Crystal Cage
  3. Right Back To The Start
  4. End Of The Week
  5. Lonesome Sound
  6. Shadow Of The Truth
  7. Silence
  8. I Will Not Sleep Here
  9. My Dream Is Yours