The Avalanches: Wildflower


The Avalanches

  • US $26.99  

  • Release Date 08 July 2016
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
2LP + CD

Following an unprecedented sixteen-year gap between albums and all the revolutions the world has made since the release of their hugely acclaimed, award winning debut album Since I Left You (2000), The Avalanches announce details of their new album Wildflower.

Created by the band’s core duo – Robbie Chater and Tony Di Blasi – Wildflower is nothing less than The Beach Boys’ Smile reimagined in the Daisy Age - a mind-bending cartoon road movie that’s best viewed with closed eyes and an open mind.

The first single to be lifted from the album is Frankie Sinatra - an infectious old world carnival inspired rollercoaster of a song – featuring Danny Brown and MF Doom on vocals, the song also includes works by calypsonian Wilmoth Houdini and Rodgers & Hammerstein.

In the years since the release of Since I Left You , the album has established a rarely seen loyalty, its influence ever growing in the age of digital music, sampling and bedroom producers. The Avalanches, meanwhile, have become the stuff of folklore, with rumours abounding about a long awaited follow-up record. Well, today that rumouring ends…

1. The Leaves Were Falling
2. Because I’m Me
3. Frankie Sinatra (featuring Danny Brown & MF Doom)
4. Subways
5. Going Home
6. If I Was a Folkstar (featuring Toro y Moi)
7. Colours (featuring Jonathan Donahue)
8. Zap!
9. The Noisy Eater (featuring Biz Markie & Jean-Michel Bernard)
10. Wildflower
11. Harmony
12. Live a Lifetime Love
13. Park Music
14. Livin’ Underwater (Is Somethin’ Wild)
15. The Wozard of Iz (featuring Danny Brown)
16. Over the Turnstiles
17. Sunshine
18. Light Up
19. Kaleidoscopic Lovers
20. Stepkids (featuring Jennifer Herrema & Warren Ellis)
21. Saturday Night Inside Out (featuring Father John Misty & David Berman)