• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Kate Tempest: The Book of Traps and Lessons

The Book of Traps and Lessons

Kate Tempest

  • US$23.99
    Delivery from US$10.49

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 14 June 2019
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Fiction Records

Kae Tempest

"Kate Tempest returns with her third studio album, The Book of Traps and Lessons.

The highly anticipated album was crafted with Rick Rubin and Dan Carey over the course of the past five years. It follows Tempest’s previous releases, 2014’s Everybody Down and 2017’s Let Them Eat Chaos, both of which were shortlisted for Mercury Prize in 2014 and 2017, respectively. Last year, Kate Tempest was nominated at The BRIT Awards for Best Female Solo Performer.

A handful of words often tell you everything you need to know. When asked, who is Kate Tempest? She gives a brief, albeit telling answer. “Kate Tempest is the words,” she responds. You haven’t ever seen, heard, or experienced anyone quite like her. Tempest uncovers the missing link between the Golden Ages of literature and hip-hop. The London-born BRIT Award-nominated spoken word artist, rapper, poet, novelist, and playwright rhymes with a century-turning fury. Since her emergence in 2011, she has redefined what it means to be a wordsmith in the Modern Age. To date, she has published three poetry collections, staged three plays, and released two studio albums. Along the way, she entranced audiences on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, NPR’s “Tiny Desk,” and more. Not to mention, she garnered widespread critical acclaim from The New York Times, The New Yorker, Forbes, and more, to name a few. In the midst of this whirlwind journey, she performed a passage of her popular 75-minute narrative poem, Brand New Ancients, on Charlie Rose. Legendary producer and American Recordings Founder Rick Rubin caught the show, tracked down her phone number, and made a call. This set a series of events in motion that led to her 2019 debut album for American Recordings, The Book of Traps and Lessons, set for release on June 14th.

1 Thirsty (0:03:26)  
2 Keep Moving Don't Move (0:05:49)  
3 Brown Eyed Man (0:03:05)  
4 Three Sided Coin (0:04:02)  
5 I Trap You (0:03:32)  
6 All Humans Too Late (0:03:06)  
7 Hold Your Own (0:04:07)  
8 Lessons (0:04:04)  
9 Firesmoke (0:03:34)  
10 Holy Elixir (0:04:57)  
11 People's Faces (0:05:17)  

More products from Kate Tempest

Kate Tempest: Let Them Eat Chaos
Kate Tempest
Let Them Eat Chaos
Vinyl LP
In Stock
Kae Tempest