• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Ryley Walker: The Lillywhite Sessions

The Lillywhite Sessions

Ryley Walker

  • US$24.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 16 November 2018
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Dead Oceans

On The Lillywhite Sessions, Ryley Walker and the similarly indebted trio of drummer Ryan Jewell and bassist Andrew Scott Young cover Dave Matthews’ infamously abandoned 2001 art-rock masterpiece of the same name, a record where he and his band indulged a new adult pathos and a budding musical wanderlust.

With a delicate rhythmic latticework and vocals that ask you to lean in, “Busted Stuff” recalls Jim O’ Rourke’s golden Drag City days. Emerging from a wall of distortion, “Diggin’ a Ditch” becomes a power trio wallop à la Dinosaur Jr, shaking off existential malaise like twenty-something pals writing rock songs in the garage. Walker’s “Grace is Gone,” the most faithful take here, is a testament to his unflagging love for the music that helped make him a musician.

This end-to-end interpretation of youthful fascination is a collective reminder that we are all just kids from somewhere, reckoning with our upbringing the best we can. Walker has stepped through the door long ago opened by the Dave Matthews Band to find a world teeming with musical possibilities. On The Lillywhite Sessions, he has, in turn, created his own.

1 Busted Stuff  
2 Grey Street  
3 Diggin’ A Ditch  
4 Sweet Up And Dow  
5 JTR  
6 Big Eyed Fish  
7 Grace Is Gone  
8 Captain  
9 Bartender  
10 Monkey Man  
11 Kit Kat Jam  
12 Raven  

More products from Ryley Walker

Ryley Walker: Golden Sings That Have Been Sung
Ryley Walker
Golden Sings That Have Been Sung
Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days
Ryley Walker: Deafman Glance
Ryley Walker
Deafman Glance
Vinyl LP
In Stock