• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Richard and Linda Thompson: I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight

I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight

Richard and Linda Thompson

  • US $25.99  

  • Release Date 21 July 2014
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
Vinyl LP

Includes MP3 version

Recorded in May 1973 but not released until April the following year this new vinyl edition coincides with the 40th anniversary of its release. Although Linda (Peters) had sung backing vocals on Thompson’s intriguingly misunderstood debut solo album Henry The Human Fly, the couple were married when they recorded this, their debut as a duo. They went on to record a further five albums together in ten years. Bright Lights was produced by John Wood and Richard Thompson and is an emotionally affecting, often dark, folk rock album of sharp but diverse material driven by the wonderfully terse, muscular rhythm section of Pat Donaldson and Timi Donald who had both played with Thompson in Sandy Denny’s group during 1971/2. The album unveiled the fullest and most impressive series of songs yet written by Richard; ‘Calvary Cross’, ‘Down Where the Drunkards Roll’, ‘Withered and Died’, ‘End of the Rainbow’ and the fundamentally upbeat title track. It’s the album where Thompson acquired his reputation for doom and gloom but what glorious doom and gloom it was, uplifted by Linda’s fabulous vocals and Richard’s musical awareness.

1. When I Get to the Border
2. The Calvary Cross
3. Withered and Died
4. I Want to See the Bright Lights Tonight
5. Down Where the Drunkards Roll
6. We Sing Hallelujah
7. Has He Got a Friend for Me
8. The Little Beggar Girl
9. The End of the Rainbow
10. The Great Valerio