• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Shlohmo: The End: Limited Edition Pink Vinyl 2LP

The End: Limited Edition Pink Vinyl 2LP


  • US$36.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 04 March 2022
  • Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Friends of Friends
Three years after its initial release, Friends of Friends present Shlohmo's seminal third studio album 'The End' on pink vinyl for the first time - an album that brought Shlohmo on a billboard on Times Square and saw him in BBC's Essential Mix seat.

“The album is vaguely about the end of the world, but from the viewpoint of smoking on the couch during the extinction event. Reading a nice book while the meteor hits. The fake peace of insularity during chaos,” says Henry Laufer on his new record. ‘The End’ is a thunderous apocalyptic masterpiece that sees the LA producer delve deep into his vast skillset. Drawing inspiration from his interest in cults who view the end of days as an occasion to relish, ‘The End’ is the sound of impending doom bringing calmness in its futility. It’s a beast of a record from an artist at the top of his game and boasting a list of recent collaborators including Post Malone, Corbin, Joji, Chance The Rapper, Yung Lean, Lil Yachty, Banks & Jeremih.

Album opener and first single ‘Rock Music’ acted as a palette of discovery for where Laufer wanted the album to exist in. The drums were done with toy drum machines and a Mini-Korg Monotron delay, which he ended up using throughout album as well as the synth sounds from Teenage Engineering's Pocket Operators. “Like a beautiful anxious wreck, it’s a huge fucking mess and one of my favourite messes I’ve made,” he muses. Utilising a lot of the same instruments and process as ‘Rock Music,’ the title track is from the same world of “crumbling, warping shit,” as he calls it, and ‘Hopeless’ is an ode to goth and new wave. ‘Headache of the Year’ and ‘Ungrateful’ are a tale of two halves, the former a nod to the doom metal and hardcore he grew up on, and the latter a continuation made within the same session. All the vocals on ‘Best of Me’ are sample of himself. “This one feels like visiting my old brain form 2012 and reminiscent of my music form that time with new sensibilities,” he says. Recorded on cassette, played on his Dad’s upright piano and then chopped up the chords on his computer, he describes ‘We Sat in The Car’ as his secret favourite. “The very end of the song I think are my favourite 30 seconds on the whole record.” ‘Watching A Video’ feels like scrolling through a Youtube blackhole with your significant other under a warm blanket, while missiles pass overhead and ‘Be Myself’ is doing ecstasy alone in the dark. The sister song to an old one called ‘Empty Pools,’ ethereal closing track ‘Still Life’ was recorded in one take through a delay/loop pedal was written at a time when Laufer was recording a lot of guitar for the film score he was working on. It’s a lush and fitting end to a mammoth return from Laufer, who throughout ‘The End’ manages to conjure a sense of hope amidst impending fatalness.

- Shlohmo's seminal third studio album
- available on pink vinyl for the first time
- limited to 500 copies
Side A:
1 Rock Music  
2 The End  
3 Hopeless  
Side B:
1 Eating Away  
2 Headache of the Year  
3 Ungrateful  
4 Staring at the Wall  
Side C:
1 We Sat in the Car  
2 Panick Attack  
3 Watching a Video  
Side D:
1 The Best of Me  
2 By Myself  
3 Still Life