Jay Daniel: Broken Knowz

Broken Knowz

Jay Daniel

  • US $25.99  

  • Release Date 25 November 2016
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Double Vinyl LP

Jay Daniel (Wild Oats / Sound Signature / Watusi High) is one of the leading artists in the latest generation of Detroit electronic music-makers. His debut album on Ninja Tune’s Technicolour imprint, ‘Broken Knowz’, signals a departure from his previous output. Disillusioned with the constraints of drum programming and the associated deficiencies translating human feeling or emotion, he retreated to his mother’s basement, picked up his drumsticks and started recording into a multitrack mixer for the first time. The results are refreshingly exposed and overtly reliant on the sheer weight of the grooves.

It’s a mighty debut from a young man seemingly oblivious to the weight of expectation associated with the pantheon of music makers hailing from his hometown.

For fans of Kyle Hall, Funkineven, Four Tet, Theo Parrish.

Black double vinyl LP in green paper sleeves housed in a 5mm spined outer sleeve printed on reverse board. Photography by Zubeyda Ahmed and Devin Williams. Artwork by Sean Linn.


  1. Last Of The Dogons
  2. Paradise Valley
  3. Niiko
  4. 1001 Nights
  5. Squeaky Maya
  6. $hake It Down
  7. Knowledge Of Selfie
  8. Boolin
  9. Yemaya