ALMA: Alma



  • US $22.99  

  • Release Date 04 November 2016
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Vinyl LP
Fierce Panda

ALMA is a London-based ambient group formed in 2014, fronted by songwriter Pete Lambrou. 'The Lighthouse' (Tom Hodge Rebuild) is their new digital single, released on November 25th to coincide with a European tour and their biggest headline show so far at the Lexington on Halloween – full dates below. Not only that but ALMA will be reissuing their ‘ALMA’ mini-album – originally released last summer - on limited edition vinyl on November 4th, and they kicked off this thoroughly phased phase with an acclaimed appearance at the recent ArcTanGent Festival in Bristol.

ALMA takes its name from the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array – “a really bloody powerful telescope”, which is fitting as their music has been described as feeling like "it would sit at home as the background music to an ambient explosion in space." That music has already been hoovering up comparisons to fellow fragrant explorers Sigur Ros, Patrick Watson and Explosions In The Sky, which is perhaps unsurprising when one considers that as mainstay of Codes In The Clouds and Monsters Build Mean Robots Lambrou’s gently cosmic post-rock provenance is impeccable. Joined by fellow Code In The Clouder Ciaran Morahan, ALMA deploy a loop station, multiple delay pedals, a piano and strings to create a slowmoving, high-flying soundscape of luscious gravitas.

1. Cosmonaut
2. The Great Escape
3. The Gardener
4. If You Believed You Were An Island
5. To The Stars
6. The Lighthouse
7. While Nothing