• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Howe Gelb: The Coincidentalist’ and ‘Dust Bowl: Gold Vinyl 2LP

The Coincidentalist’ and ‘Dust Bowl: Gold Vinyl 2LP

Howe Gelb

  • US$31.99
    Delivery from US$12.14

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 21 October 2022
  • In Stock
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Fire Records

Released on gold vinyl, ‘The Coincidentalist’ and ‘Dust Bowl’ are two discs of Howe Gelb filled with randomness and happenstance, a typical treasure trove spanning all genres from alt country to Cohen-esque grandeur. They traverse, unflinchingly, his chameleon-like repertoire. This deluxe re-issue includes ‘Dust Bowl’ on vinyl for the very first time, with the records housed in a gatefold sleeve featuring updated artwork and liner notes.

‘The Coincidentalist’, originally released in 2013, features a raft of friends and collaborators including Bonnie Prince Billy, Andrew Bird, M. Ward, Steve Shelley, and Jason Lytle of Grandaddy with John Parrish on mixing duties. Ever the focal point of Giant Sand and Gelb releases, the Arizona Desert serves as a key inspiration for the record, animating the baron landscape with stories of those that have navigated them. Praise for the release was not short, with AllMusic proclaiming that it’s “one of Gelb's most realized efforts; despite its relaxed, airy presentation, it's musically and lyrically provocative, as poetic, strange, and mysterious as the desert itself."

The accompanying collection ‘Dust Bowl’ is a personal sketchbook of songs, a more stripped back set than it’s counterpart. Featuring everything from the country blues of ‘Porch Banjo’ and ‘John Deere’, to off-kilter piano ballads like ‘The Old Overrated’ and ‘Reality Or Not’ and the deconstructed desert pop on ‘Forever And A Day’ and the fragile ‘Man On A String’. ‘Dust Bowl’ is an insider’s view of Howe’s songwriting craft, a unique insight into the man himself.

“‘Dust Bowl’ was primarily for fans that have followed me for a while. ‘The Coincidentalist’ is for the friends of the fans.” Howe told Under The Radar. While Nightlife magazine reported that; “Without warning, the Giant Sand frontman and polymorphous countryman dropped this compilation of house recordings via Bandcamp… At a time when so much harmless, soulless folk resonates, Howe Gelb is a mandatory point of reference for any fan of the genre.”

Side A
1 Vortexas (feat Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy)  
2 Left of Center  
3 Running Behind  
4 The 3 Deaths of Lucky (feat. KT Tunstall)  
5 Unforgivable  
6 Instigated Chimes  
Side B
1 The Coincidentalist (feat. Andrew Bird)  
2 Triangulate  
3 Picacho Peak  
4 An Extended Plane of Existence  
5 Looking That Way  
Side C
1 Dust Bowl  
2 Porch Banjo  
3 Lost Love  
4 Man on a String  
5 Reality or Not  
6 John Deere  
7 Windblown Waltz  
Side D
1 Redelivery Blues  
2 Forever and a Day  
3 Plane of Existence  
4 A Coffee Song  
5 The Old Overrated  
6 Mystery Spot  
7 Blink of an Eye