Kacy & Clayton: Strange Country

Strange Country

Kacy & Clayton

  • US $23.99  

  • Release Date 06 May 2016
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Vinyl LP
New West Records

Includes Download Code

New West Records present ‘Strange Country’, the new full-length album from the young and gifted cousin-duo Kacy & Clayton.

The ten-song collection was recorded over seven freezing Canadian winter days at Ghetto Box Studios, a historic community hall turned studio. The product of a lifetime of deep kinship, the record showcases the purity and astounding beauty of Kacy Anderson’s voice, one that has been notably compared to Fairport Convention’s Sandy Denny. Only Clayton Linthicum's intricate guitar work, expert time changes and vocal harmonies could forge the foundation for Kacy’s voice to soar even higher - the result being an enormously satisfying and organic album.

Drawing a wide swath of inspirations ranging from the Greenwich Village folk scene to the ancestral music of Southern Appalachia and the British Isles, the cousins fashion songs steeped in those traditions, simultaneously paying homage and building on those sounds.

1. Strange Country
2. Springtime Of The Year
3. The Rio Grande
4. If You Ask How I’m Keeping
5. Brunswick Stew
6. Down At The Dancehall
7. Seven Yellow Gypsies
8. Over The River Charlie
9. The Plains Of Mexico
10. Dyin’ Bed Maker

More products from Kacy & Clayton