Adam Torres: Pearls to Swine

Pearls to Swine

Adam Torres

  • US $22.99  

  • Release Date 09 September 2016
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
Vinyl LP
Fat Possum

‘Pearls To Swine’ maps Adam Torres’ complicated history as a songwriter and musician: it’s the sound of someone who discovered the value in his own devotion to music and how songs and writing are extensions of his own journey. He embeds his own folklore within his high-lonesome sounding, deeply felt and moving brand of folk music.

‘Pearls To Swine’ was recorded over eight days in January at Austin’s Cacophony Recorders, which overlooks the Colorado River valley. Working alongside co-producer and mixer Erik Wofford (Bill Callahan, Black Angels, M. Ward, Okkervil River), Torres chose the analogue route, recording and mixing directly to tape to allow for more finality and less overthought. This method in turn lends a natural, warm and almost magical realism atmosphere to the songs - like a high stakes live show captured in a fantastical setting.

The core rhythm was captured live and augmented by a few overdubs and Torres is joined on the album by the players in his band: Thor Harris (of Swans; on conga drums, vibraphone and percussion), Aisha Burns (violin) and Dailey Tolliver (bass / piano), with drum kit performances by Matthew Shepherd and Rodolfo Villareal III.


  1. Juniper Arms
  2. Some Beast Will Find You By Name
  3. High Lonesome
  4. Morning Rain
  5. Daydream
  6. Outlands
  7. Where I’m Calling From
  8. Mountain River
  9. City Limits