Robert Lester Folsom: Ode To A Rainy Day: Archives 1972-1975

Ode To A Rainy Day: Archives 1972-1975

Robert Lester Folsom

  • US $15.99  

  • Release Date 17 November 2014
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Vinyl LP
Anthology Recordings

  • All unreleased material spanning Robert Lester Folsom's early years.
  • Previously unreleased photos and art.
  • Fully authorized through Robert Lester Folsom.
  • Liner notes written by Robert Lester Folsom.

Anthology Recordings is pleased to present Ode To A Rainy Day: Archives 1972-1975, a collection of previously unreleased home recordings from Robert Lester Folsom.

The 13 tracks in this collection capture the halcyon, wide-eyed experiments of Folsom who, after going halves in a reel-to-reel tape recorder with a friend, recorded all of this material over college summer breaks in barns, screened porches and bedrooms across Adel, Georgia.

Folsom crafts a delicate form of folk-rock, with a knack for penning gorgeous ballads ("See You Later I'm Gone", "Can't See You"), spellbinding instrumental explorations ("Oblivion") and elements of dusty psychedelia (the farfisa-peppered "Written In Your Hair" and "On And On"). There are echoes of Neil Young ("Southern Man" was a favorite cover of Folsom's), Nick Drake and early Fairport Convention in Folsom's form and lyricism, that would later become more realized on his full-length Music And Dreams (1976).

Perhaps just as precious as the songs revived in this collection is the youthful sense of excitement and experimentation that has been captured and preserved.

1. Ode to a Rainy Day
2. Written in Your Hair
3. Love is
4. Heaven on the Beach with You
5. See You Later, I'm Gone
6. She
7. On and On
8. Another Sunday Morning
9. Situations
10. Oblivion
11. Can't You See
12. Blue Velvet
13. Show Me to the Window

More products from Robert Lester Folsom

Robert Lester Folsom: Music And Dreams
Robert Lester Folsom
Music And Dreams
Vinyl LP
US $15.99
Buy Now: More stock coming soon