• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Various Artists: Borga Revolution! Ghanaian Music In The Digital Age, 1983 - 1992 [Volume 1]: Vinyl 2LP

Borga Revolution! Ghanaian Music In The Digital Age, 1983 - 1992 [Volume 1]: Vinyl 2LP

Various Artists

  • US$31.99
    Delivery from US$12.14

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 17 June 2022
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Kalita Records

Kalita are proud to unveil the first ever compilation focussing on the phenomenon of ‘Burger Highlife’, a crossover of West African melodies with synthesizers, disco and boogie that took over Ghanaian airwaves during the 1980’s and beyond. Highlighting key recordings from genre-defining artists including Thomas Frempong and George Darko, as well as more obscure sought-after tracks by elusive bands such as Aban and Uncle Joe’s Afri-Beat, Kalita come to the rescue of audiophiles, DJs and music-lovers alike with ‘Borga Revolution!’ Spread over a double-LP housed in a gatefold sleeve. Accompanied by a 16-page booklet featuring extensive interview-based liner notes on each artist and never-before-seen archival photos.

The 1970s had witnessed an increased Western airtime and physical presence in Ghana introducing funk, soul and disco sounds to the region. By the turn of the decade the country was also enduring economic turmoil, with rising poverty, military dictatorships and long periods of enforced curfews (amongst other factors) making it impossible for artists to survive.

As a result, many Ghanaian musicians with a broader outlook began to pursue their careers in the West, moving to both Europe and America in search of stardom. It was here that Ghanaian musicians developed a digitised version of highlife music which fully embraced Western contemporary music styles and newly introduced technology such as the Yamaha DX7 synthesizer and various drum machines.

It is in this context in which the evolution of Ghanaian dance music and the emergence of ‘Burger Highlife’ was born. With ‘Borga Revolution!’ Kalita endeavour to tell this story, with prominent and lesser-known musicians’ accounts and documentary evidence providing a comprehensive understanding of this shift to the digital age.

- First ever compilation on the 1980s Ghanaian 'Burger Highlife' scene
- Includes key 'Burger Highlife' recordings unavailable since the 1980's, including those by orginator George Darko and highly sought-after tracks by Aban, Thomas Frempong, Uncle Joe’s Afri-Beat, Paa Jude and others
- Housed in a gatefold sleeve and accompanied by a 16-page booklet with interview-based liner notes and archival photos

1 Uncle Joe’s Afri-Beat - Eshe Wo Kon Ho  
2 Thomas Frempong - Mada Meho So  
3 Native Spirit - Odo San Bra Fie  
1 George Darko - Medo Menuanom (12” Version)  
2 Wilson Boateng - Mabre Agu  
3 Paa Jude - Odo Refre Wo  
1 Aban - Efie Nnye  
2 Wilson Boateng - Asew Watchman  
3 Uncle Joe’s Afri-Beat - Mr. D.J.  
1 George Darko - Obi Abayewa  
2 Dr. K. Gyasi’s Noble Kings - Damfo Agoo/David Akofo/Obegyaa Nowa/Okwantuni Moboro (Medley)