• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Juan Wauters: Real Life Situations: Limited Edition Ruby Red Vinyl LP

Real Life Situations: Limited Edition Ruby Red Vinyl LP

Juan Wauters

  • US$24.99
    Delivery from US$8.73

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 14 May 2021
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Captured Tracks
Juan Wauters’ fifth solo album, Real Life Situations, is a multifaceted ode to sur- rendering control and taking life as it comes. References to radio abound on its 21 tracks, and with good reason - the album spans genres, narrators, languages, and perspectives with the ease of spinning a rotary knob. Mining older songs, phone notes, new material, and snippets from TV and YouTube, Wauters has crafted an aural document of the year through his eyes.

Despite the circumstances of its creation, Real Life Situations is not a quarantine record. In many ways it’s the opposite of one, taking togetherness as both its subject and its primary medium. Pre-lockdown collaborations with Mac DeMar- co, Peter Sagar (AKA Homeshake), Nick Hakim, Cola Boyy, El David Aguilar, and more playfully offset Wauters’ more pensive solo tracks, and even in its sparest moments the album pulses with life. This is due in part to an impressive array of interludes and samples, most of which are field recordings that Wauters collects on his phone, ranging from the innocuous (“A Peter Pan Donuts Conversation”) to the intense (“Crack Dabbling”).

Under his care, these small moments become coordinates for the peaks and valleys of human experience, coloring the album with Wauters’ unique shade of realism. “Some people think I’m an optimist”, he explains, “but I’m not. I’m always seeing all sides of things.” Of course, Wauters himself never disappears in the boisterous crowd - he lends his chameleonic songwriting to experiments in hip-hop (“Unity”), lo-fi R&B (“Mon- soon”), and deft indie folk (“Lion Dome”). Themes of loneliness, personal growth, patience, and companionship arise again and again; we can feel Wauters navi- gating a rapidly-changing world in real time. Jubilant choruses and spoken word poetry bleed into city noises and overheard conversations. Real freedom, the album suggests, comes not from gaining control, but from accepting its artifice. Like the programming on a radio station, there’s something here for everyone. All you have to do is listen.
1 A JPW Headspace 2020  
2 Monsoon (with Homeshake)  
3 Sentimiento Queens  
4 Locura  
5 Ventana  
6 Presentation (with Nick Hakim & Benamin)  
7 Unity (with Cola Boyy)  
8 Real (with Mac DeMarco)  
9 Keep Cool  
10 Carmina Pensá  
11 A Peter Pan Donuts Conversation  
12 Lion Dome (with Air Waves)  
13 JPW Talking  
14 Acordes (with Tall Juan)  
15 Bailando  
16 Estás Escuchando (with El David Aguilar)  
17 Crack Dabbling  
18 A JPW Theme Song  
19 Yendo  
20 Powder  
21 NY Weaz  

More products from Juan Wauters

Juan Wauters: Introducing Juan Pablo
Juan Wauters
Introducing Juan Pablo
Vinyl LP
In Stock