• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Various Artists: The Vinyl Series Volume 1: Exclusive Vinyl Edition

The Vinyl Series Volume 1: Exclusive Vinyl Edition

Various Artists

  • US$35.99
    Delivery from US$9.12

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 23 April 2021
  • In Stock
  • Only 107 left
Product code
Vinyl LP
Since its beginnings in Jamaica in 1959, the story of the pioneering Island Records label has been inextricably linked to the story of its founder, Chris Blackwell. Now, Blackwell has curated a series of compilation LPs, featuring his hand-picked tracks that correspond with his and Island’s legendary history.

On February 26, Island Records / UMe will release Volume One of The Vinyl Series, a 14-track album covering the years 1962 to 1969. Volumes Two and Three will follow later this year and explore Island’s history in the decades that followed. Available exclusively on uDiscover & The Sound of Vinyl, each will be sold separately as well as a bundle with a discounted price for all three.

The first volume of The Vinyl Series includes such groundbreaking hits as Millie Small’s “My Boy Lollipop” and “Israelites” by Desmond Dekker and the Aces—songs which introduced much of the world to the sound of Jamaican music. The context for these singles is set by several early singles by Toots and the Maytalls and “Forward March” by a teenage Derrick Morgan, the “first star of ska.”
1 “Long Shot Kick De Bucket” – The Pioneers  
2 “Six and Seven Books of Moses” – Toots & The Maytals  
3 “Rivers of Babylon” – The Melodians  
4 “Forward March” – Derrick Morgan  
5 “Liquidator” – Harry J. All Stars  
6 “Israelites” – Desmond Dekker & The Aces  
7 “007 (Shanty Town)” – Desmond Dekker and The Aces  
1 “My Boy Lollipop” – Millie Small  
2 “54-46 Was My Number” – Toots & The Maytals  
3 “Keep On Running” – The Spencer Davis Group  
4 “Gimme Some Lovin’ – The Spencer Davis Group  
5 “Mockingbird” – Charlie & Inez Foxx  
6 “Harlem Shuffle” – Bob & Earl  
7 “I Can’t Stand It” – The Soul Sisters