• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Toth: Practice Magic And Seek Professional Help When Necessary: LP with Signed Exclusive Handwritten Notes

Practice Magic And Seek Professional Help When Necessary: LP with Signed Exclusive Handwritten Notes


  • US$21.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 24 May 2019
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Figureight Records

In July 2016, Alex Toth was recovering from a broken foot and a broken heart, stuck in his fourth-floor apartment in Brooklyn with cast and crutches. This is where Tōth’s debut album, Practice Magic and Seek Professional Help When Necessary, was born.

A few months earlier, Alex and his Rubblebucket cofounder and love of more than eleven years had “consciously uncoupled,” after a period of helping each other through devastating challenges—ovarian cancer and alcoholism, depression and crippling anxiety. It was a separation rooted in profound respect, marked by matching stick-and-poke tattoos, and followed by a continuing, fruitful creative partnership.

Today, Tōth shares new single Song To Make You Fall In Love With Me alongside a Mary Poppins inspired video with nods to the mime artistry of Charlie Chaplin. The video was made by a ballerina photographer and features two Juilliard dancers. Tōth says of the single:

"I’m really into self-psychoanalysis and psychology in general. It’s a huge part of the mining process for my songwriting. And this process got way deeper when i started meditating and going on silent retreats about 4 years ago. Because i could see MUCH more detail and catch way more of what was going on with the feelings inside. Increasingly I found (and find) certain tendencies of being a human absurd, hilarious and psychedelic. We’re so silly. Such as catching myself writing a short text message song to someone i had a crush on and being like “dude WTF are you doing?” realising it was basically wanting to write a song to make someone—a specific someone— fall in love with me. All coming from that deeply melancholic post break-up space - the space where it feels like you need love or you’ll just fall right apart."

In the wake of the breakup, Alex—a nocturnal wind-up dance toy who only sometimes winds down (he has worn a nicotine patch for four years straight with no exit plan)—was lightning-struck by sadness. “Almost convalescent” at times, in his words, though rarely still. A fiercely dedicated jazz trumpeter by training, Alex is always playing. More importantly, he is always, always writing. And that spring, in the midst of dance parties and silent meditations, rooftop smokes and intense crying jags, a new kind of music started to come. Raw, stripped-down songs unfurling in the middle of the night without agenda, bent over an acoustic guitar. It never occurred to Alex that he was making an album.

The idea sprouted later that spring when he was co-directing a David Bowie tribute with his friend Kimbra—after hearing some of his new songs, she strongly encouraged Alex to turn them into a record, an idea he brushed off at first (they went on to co-write “Down for the Count” on the album). But it solidified in June 2016, when Alex was onstage with his punk project, Alexander F and broke his foot. Stuck there in his apartment all summer, through practice, solitude, and a lot of silence, Tōth came to life.

1 Down For The Count  
2 Song To Make You Fall In Love With Me  
3 No Reason  
4 Copilot  
5 Picture Of You  
6 Funny Business  
7 When I Awoke  
8 Guts To Fly  
9 Sentientiment  
10 Blessing Song  
11 Decay