• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Kendrick Lamar: To Pimp A Butterfly

To Pimp A Butterfly

Kendrick Lamar

  • US$39.99
    Delivery from US$12.74

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 23 October 2015
  • In Stock
Product code
Double Vinyl LP

Rush-released due to Internet leakage, Kendrick Lamar's 'To Pimp A Butterfly arrives in double quick time.

With Lamar's previous album, 'Good Kid M.A.A.d City', lauded as one of this fledgling Century's best, the level of expectation on its follow up was sky-high. How do you proceed after such a triple A-rated straight-up hip hop smash? Get afflicted by the (P)funk, that's how. Channelling the psychedelic stew of Parliament / Funkadelic, 'To Pimp A Butterfly' positions Lamar along the higher branches of rap's genre-busting evolution (see also The Roots’ 'Phrenology', Common’s 'Electric Circus', Q-Tip’s 'Kamaal the Abstract', André 3000’s 'The Love Below'). The expansive scope of Lamar's vision also runs to a live studio band featuring Robert Glasper, Flying Lotus' fretless bass maestro Thundercat and producer /sax player Terrace Martin, who add free jazz backing, pulling the music in another direction.

Lyrically the album walks in the footsteps of the socio-political commentary of Curtis Mayfield and Marvin Gaye, but in the post-Ferguson era of continued police brutality towards African-Americans, Lamar's anger burns bright. Less 'What's Going On', more ' The Predator'. He offers a thoughtful and thought-provoking exploration of what it means to be a black man in America today, often introspective, but never naval-gazing.

Inspired and inspiring, 'To Pimp A Butterfly' is an adventurous and challenging album, and one that can be added to the essential hip hop list.

Side A
1 Wesley’s Theory (featuring George Clinton and Thundercat)  
2 For Free? Interlude  
3 King Kunta  
4 Institutionalized (featuring Bilal, Anna Wise and Snoop Dogg)  
5 These Walls (featuring Bilal, Anna Wise and Thundercat)  
Side B
1 U  
2 Alright  
3 For Sale? Interlude  
4 Momma  
Side C
1 Hood Politics  
2 How Much A Dollar Cost (featuring James Fauntleroy and Ronald Isley)  
3 Complexion (A Zulu Love) (featuring Rapsody)  
4 The Blacker The Berry  
Side D
1 You Ain’t Gotta Lie (Momma Said)  
2 i  
3 Mortal Man  

More products from Kendrick Lamar

Kendrick Lamar: good kid, m.A.A.d city
Kendrick Lamar
good kid, m.A.A.d city
Double Vinyl LP
In Stock