• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Simple Minds: Street Fighting Years

Street Fighting Years

Simple Minds

  • US$28.99
  • US$28.99
    Delivery from US$13.35

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 06 March 2020
  • In Stock
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
UMR / Virgin EMI

Street Fighting Years, released in May 1989 and produced by Trevor Horn (and Stephen Lipson), wasSimple Minds’ eighth studio album.

Recorded in Scotland between 1988 and 1989, during a period of personnel changes within the band, Street Fighting Years was a departure from the band’s previous sound. While still maintaining the Arena Rock sound the band were known for, they moved away from the Soul influences on the previous records and embraced a new Celtic/Folk sound. The lyrics built on the more political themes which the band had introduced with “Ghost Dancing”, covering topics such as the poll taxand the Irish ‘Troubles’, and political activists including Nelson Mandela and Steven Biko.

The album became the band’s fourth successive number one album in the UK. It was released on the back of the chart-topping single “Belfast Child”, which was released three months earlier and had reached number one in the singles chart.

This version released in multiple formats and fully endorsed by the band, has been remastered at Abbey Road studios by Andrew Walters and contains the album as well as a bonus disc of B-sides, edits and 12 remixes, and most of the previously unissued Verona show from 1989.

The booklet was designed by long time contributor Stuart Crouch and contains sleeve notes by Daryl Easlea who interviewed the band and producer Trevor Horn extensively for the set. These provide an insight into how the album was recorded and produced, as well as what was going on in the band at the time.

1 Biko  
2 When Spirits Rise  
1 Street Fighting Years  
2 Soul Crying Out  
3 Wall of Love  
1 Let It All Come Down  
2 Mandela Day  
3 Belfast Child  
1 This Is Your Land  
2 Take A Step Back  
3 Kick It In  

More products from Simple Minds

Simple Minds: New Gold Dream: Vinyl Reissue [100 Copies Available]
Simple Minds
New Gold Dream: Vinyl Reissue [100 Copies Available]
Vinyl LP
In Stock
Simple Minds: Direction of the Heart: Black Vinyl LP
Simple Minds
Direction of the Heart: Black Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP