• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Sufjan Stevens: The Avalanche - Colour Vinyl

The Avalanche - Colour Vinyl

Sufjan Stevens

  • US$29.99
    Delivery from US$11.04

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 31 August 2018
  • In Stock
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Asthmatic Kitty

Released in 2006 as a follow-up to Sufjan Stevens’ 2005 Illinois, Asthmatic Kitty Records is finally releasing Avalanche on vinyl on August 31st, 2018. Initially conceived as part of a double album version of Illinois, Avalanche instead became a “companion” (a polite word for “b-sides”) to Illinois. Since its release, fans have had mixed reactions. “3 versions of Chicago?!?! Enough already,” wrote ‘biografiend” on Sputnik. But “cravenmonket,” who gave the album 4.5 stars on rateyourmusic, suggests that we all “stop thinking of The Avalanche as more Illinois. It actually owes more to Michigan.” Cravenmonket may be right. Take “The Mistress Witch” or “Saul Bellow,” both of which could have lived on the 2003 Michigan as much as on Illinois. One can hear Sufjan’s 2004 Enjoy Your Rabbit in “The Undivided Self.” And the band jam on “Springfield” looks forward to 2010’s All Delighted People. Then there’s “Pittsfield,” which, at least lyrically, foreshadows the more personal themes of 2015’s Carrie & Lowell.

All that to say, a vinyl release of Avalanche is long overdue. With gratitude, we happily present Avalanche as a 2xLP a mere twelve years after its release, complete with all 21 songs from the original release, including the three versions of “Chicago” (you’re welcome, biografiend). THANK YOU!

1 The Avalanche  
2 Dear Mr. Supercomputer  
3 Adlai Stevenson  
4 The Vivian Girls Are Visited in the Night by Saint Dargarius and His Squadron of Benevolent Butterflies  
5 Chicago (Acoustic Version)  
6 The Henney Buggy Band  
7 Saul Bellow  
8 Carlyle Lake  
9 Springfield, or Bobby Got a Shadfly Caught in His Hair  
10 The Mistress Witch from McClure (or, The Mind That Knows Itself)  
11 Kaskaskia River  
12 Chicago (Adult Contemporary Easy Listening Version)  
13 Inaugural Pop Music for Jane Margaret Byrne  
14 No Man's Land  
15 The Palm Sunday Tornado Hits Crystal Lake  
16 The Pick-Up  
17 The Perpetual Self, or 'What Would Saul Alinsky Do?'  
18 For Clyde Tombaugh  
19 Chicago (Multiple Personality Disorder Version)  
20 Pittsfield  
21 The Undivided Self (For Eppie and Popo)  

More products from Sufjan Stevens

Sufjan Stevens: Aporia: Limited Edition Yellow Vinyl
Sufjan Stevens, Lowell Brams
Aporia: Limited Edition Yellow Vinyl
Vinyl LP
Sorry Sold Out
Sufjan Stevens: A Beginner's Mind: Black Vinyl LP
Sufjan Stevens, Angelo De Augustine
A Beginner's Mind: Black Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP
In Stock
Sufjan Stevens: A Beginner's Mind: Limited Edition Pumpkin Head Orange Vinyl LP
Sufjan Stevens, Angelo De Augustine
A Beginner's Mind: Limited Edition Pumpkin Head Orange Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP
In Stock