Portishead: Roseland NYC

Roseland NYC


  • US $32.99  

  • Release Date 26 March 2012
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Music On Vinyl

Along with Massive Attack and Tricky, Portishead was part of the Bristol triumvirate that popularized Triphop in the early nineties, especially in America.

But what made them stand out was their added elements of Cool Jazz, Acid House and soundtrack samples to their slow, elastic beats, creating an atmospheric and seductive sound that appealed to a broad audience.

In 1998, when they realized that fans were swapping bootlegs of their live shows like crazy, Portishead decided to capture a unique performance.

'Roseland NYC' was a one night stand of sorts at the New York City Roseland Ballroom, where Geoff Barrow, Adrian Utley and Beth Gibbons were joined by the 35-piece New York Philharmonic Orchestra.

These new arrangements gave a new sense of dramatic tension, and in the process they created one of the most breathtaking albums of the genre.


A1 Humming
A2 Cowboys
A3 All Mine

B1 Mysterons
B2 Only You
B3 Half Day Closing
B4 Over 4:13

C1 Glory Box
C2 Sour Times

D1 Roads
D2 Strangers

More products from Portishead

Portishead: Portishead
Double Vinyl LP
US $20.00
In Stock
Portishead: Third
Double Vinyl LP
US $20.00
In Stock