• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Dylan Moon: Only The Blues

Only The Blues

Dylan Moon

  • US$23.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 30 August 2019
Product code
Vinyl LP

"Only the Blues is an introduction deferred, and it is the debut album by Dylan Moon.

Across its 35 minutes, we are rarely made to understand what, exactly, the source of Moon’s blues is, how that feeling has mutated, or whether there is a life beyond the small rooms and cramped spaces where this music was made. If not opaque, this first meeting with Moon is at least hazily translucent.

This makes Only the Blues something of an esoteric response to an age of radical transparency. Broadly speaking, Moon works in the field of folk music. But from this pasture, he glances pathways to digression; seeking scenic routes and counterintuitive cartography, trusting that even the most aimless trip becomes lucid if the foggy details are documented well enough.

On this trip, images spill from Moon, and most of them seem foreboding. We are given the sense - both from his lyrics and from the viscous mood he creates, using electronic manipulation to send his songs down compositional egresses, from which they emerge with a mysterious residue - that things have not been going well. Even the most saccharine memories, dancing before a freshly lit fire or hanging out with childhood cartoons come to life, feel caked with a hidden history.

Side A
1 Hope Dog (1:42)  
2 Death Warmed (2:32)  
3 Rosy (1:50)  
4 Chimneys (2:55)  
5 A Witch (1:46)  
6 Analog (2:08)  
7 Blue Jean (3:40)  
Side B
1 Collapse (1:33)  
2 Song For Jerry (3:18)  
3 Interlude (1:44)  
4 Lines (3:03)  
5 Faraway Places (1:51)  
6 Morning Limbo (2:14)  
7 Mind Troubles (3:49)  

More products from Dylan Moon

Dylan Moon: Option Explore: Vinyl LP Dylan Moon: Option Explore: Vinyl LP
Dylan Moon
Option Explore: Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP
Dylan Moon: Option Explore: Limited Emerald Green Vinyl LP
Dylan Moon
Option Explore: Limited Emerald Green Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP