William Tyler: Modern Country

Modern Country

William Tyler

  • US $24.99  

  • Release Date 03 June 2016
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Vinyl LP

Modern Country is the fourth full-length album by guitarist and composer William Tyler and his first recorded outside of his hometown of Nashville, Tennessee. It features an ensemble backing group consisting of multi-instrumentalist Phil Cook (Hiss Golden Messenger, Blind Boys of Alabama), bassist Darin Gray (Tweedy, Jim O’Rourke), and percussionist Glenn Kotche (Wilco). While there is never a comfort zone in instrumental music, Tyler attempts to leave any perceived one behind with Modern Country. His first album for Merge, 2013’s Impossible Truth, found Tyler exploring the boundaries of composition for solo guitar in a manner that paid homage to everyone from Leo Kottke to Brian Wilson.


  1. Highway Anxiety
  2. I’m Gonna Live Forever (If It Kills Me)
  3. Kingdom of Jones
  4. Albion Moonlight
  5. Gone Clear
  6. Sunken Garden
  7. The Great Unwind

More products from William Tyler

William Tyler: Impossible Truth
William Tyler
Impossible Truth
Double Vinyl LP
US $24.99
Buy Now: More stock coming soon