Minus The Bear: Interpretaciones Del Oso: Turquoise

Interpretaciones Del Oso: Turquoise

Minus The Bear

  • US $18.99  

  • Release Date 08 July 2016
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Suicide Squeeze Records

As part of their 20th anniversary celebratory series, Suicide Squeeze are proud to offer a special vinyl repress of ‘Interpretaciones Del Oso’ on turquoise and gold swirl coloured vinyl with updated artwork, printed inner sleeves and a download card.

Minus The Bear’s sophomore album ‘Menos El Oso’ was a significant departure from their debut fulllength ‘Highly Refined Pirates’. The playful guitartapping, fluid production and nostalgia-bating melodies were largely excised for air-tight drums, glitchy guitar samples and an overall air that was more of a futurist interpretation of sepia-toned noir than their predecessor’s contemporary Polaroid romanticism. It was an album that already sounded like a dark, stuttering remix of their previous efforts.

However, Minus The Bear were still - in both spirit and instrumentation - a rock band and those staccato riffs and dance beats practically begged to be re-examined from behind the producer’s console. So the band enlisted a team of underground remix artists to reinvent each of ‘Menos El Oso’’s eleven tracks. The resulting ‘Interpretaciones Del Oso’ is a wild and imaginative ride through a dizzying array of sonic reconstructions.

P.O.S. makes ‘Drilling’ a club banger; Fog turns ‘Memphis & 53rd’ into the kind of murky gloom churned out by reclusive black metalhead Xasthur; Dälek producer Oktopus transforms ‘The Game Needed Me’ into a dreamy druggy daze; Battles’ Tyondai Braxton deconstructs ‘Fulfill The Dream’ into a send-up of classic Warp Records IDM.

1. Drilling (P.O.S. Redo)
2. Memphis & 53rd (Fog Remix)
3. Fulfill The Dream (Old Italy Remix Tyondai Braxton)
4. This Ain’t A Surfin’ Movie (IQU 06 Mix)
5. The Fix (Plan B Remix)
6. Hooray (Dark Baby Remix)
7. The Game Needed Me (The Oktopus Remix)
8. Pachuca Sunrise (Alias Remix)
9. Michio’s Death Drive (Michio AKA Monostereo Remix)
10. El Torrente (J. Clark Remix)
11. The Pig War (O, Hunter Remix)

More products from Minus The Bear

Minus The Bear: VOIDS
Minus The Bear
Vinyl LP
US $23.99
Buy Now: More stock coming soon