• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Mount Kimbie: Crooks & Lovers: 10th Anniversary Expanded Edition 3LP
More images

Crooks & Lovers: 10th Anniversary Expanded Edition 3LP

Mount Kimbie

  • US$44.99
    Delivery from US$12.14

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 03 September 2021
  • In Stock
Product code
Triple Vinyl LP
In 2010, Mount Kimbie released their debut album, Crooks & Lovers, to widespread acclaim. Perfectly capturing the heady atmosphere of the moment, the album melded the wide-eyed mentality of what had become known as ‘Post-Dubstep’ with an open-minded musical sensibility that produced an instant classic. Ten years later, the album is reissued on Hotflush with a bonus disc of the band’s first ever release.

Dom and Kai met whilst at Southbank University, pushed together in a student halls that was previously a mental asylum – where the ceilings were still ridiculously high to stop patients hanging themselves: “a cold, joyless, concrete building – the sort of building where you’d drop a pen and the sound would just go on and on in an echo.”

Armed with found sound snips and a siege mentality, on Crooks & Lovers Kai and Dom set about turning London’s ambience into rhythm, its chaos into coherence. Traces of influence remained – the hard-earned spaces of Burial and The Bug vie with the berserk melodrama of Xiu Xiu and Grouper’s sad-eyed glow, D’Angelo’s pervert soul was cleansed in the intimacy of Phil Elvrum’s Microphones, Angelo Badalamenti’s swollen ‘Twin Peaks’ atmospheres found a cradle in Madlib’s lax lope. Sceneless and untethered from etiquette and genre codes, "Crooks & Lovers" floats through dubstep and hip-hop, jazz, techno and ambient, post-rock, UK garage and film scores to startling effect.

On this special vinyl edition, the first ever Mount Kimbie transmission, the Maybes EP, is included. Originally released on Hotflush in February 2009 and out of print on vinyl for many years, it’s a crucial snapshot of the band developing their sound.

1 A1. Tunnelvision  
2 A2. Would Know  
3 A3. Before I Move Off  
4 B1. Blind Night Errand  
5 B2. Adriatic  
6 B3 Carbonated  
7 C1 Ruby  
8 C2 Ode To Bear  
9 C3 Field  
10 D1 Mayor  
11 D2 Between Time  
12 E1 Maybes  
13 E2 William  
14 F1 Vertical  
15 F2 Taps  

More products from Mount Kimbie

Various Artists: Mount Kimbie DJ Kicks
Various Artists, Mount Kimbie
Mount Kimbie DJ Kicks
Double Vinyl LP
In Stock
Mount Kimbie: WXAXRXP Session
Mount Kimbie
12" Vinyl
Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days