Jameszoo: Fool



  • US $15.99  

  • Release Date 22 July 2016
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Vinyl LP

A Record of 2016

A mind-bending electronic record. Sounds like the Dutch producer is conducting a free-jazz ensemble made up of little electric sprites.

For Mitchel Van Dinther, the Dutch producer known as Jameszoo, a childlike innocence and wonder is the quality that lies at the heart of his debut album, ‘Fool’, which he calls “naive, computer jazz.”

Van Dinther emerged from the small town of Den Bosch in the southern Netherlands in the late 2000s. First as a DJ - with wideranging crates of avant-garde jazz, prog and Krautrock, electronic experiments and beat oddities - and then as a producer capable of impressive sonic and rhythmic incongruities. Now Van Dinther joins Brainfeeder with an album that fits right into the label’s expanding take on the modern evolution of jazz music.

‘Fool’ began life as just a simple debut album but soon grew into something more audacious. The primary inspiration behind the album was human limitation and our struggles to achieve which, while depressing on the surface, provided Van Dinther with the necessary burst of inspiration to create work that is both personal and relatable. As he explains, “‘Fool’ is a product of coming to terms with myself.”

During the recording process Van Dinther became obsessed with classic early 1970’s albums by Steve Kuhn, Arthur Verocai and Robert Wyatt. The melodies, compositions and idiosyncrasies of these works made the young Dutch producer reconsider his approach, moving him away from the colourful, electronic productions he was known for. “Whereas before electronic music was the foundation of my composing, now it is nothing more than an instrument within the range of many.”

Not only did Van Dinther take inspiration from these works, he eventually contacted the artists he’d been studying and convinced Kuhn and Verocai to lend their inimitable touch to the recordings. Tapping into jazz’s tradition of playing standards and covers, ‘The Zoo’ re-imagines Kuhn’s playful ‘Pearlie’s Swine’ with Rhodes and vocals that the man himself recorded with Van Dinther in New York City. The session with Verocai took place in The Netherlands, an hour-long jam between the Brazilian composer, Van Dinther, and singer Carlos Dafé, who had come along for the ride, taking turns on various instruments.

With ‘Fool’, Van Dinther has created an album that doesn’t follow any direct rules. An album composed and arranged ‘on purpose’ that still retains a wonderful naive quality. “It bothered me at first to not have the same background as most of the musicians I speak highly of, but I realise now it has its own value, it can be interesting.”

Across its 11 tracks, ‘Fool’ plays out Van Dinther’s journey to find a musical voice he can be proud of and which can also inspire others. Alongside Verocai, Dafé, and Kuhn, the album features a stellar cast of classical and jazz musicians including pianist Niels Broos, drummers Julian Sartorius and Richard Spaven, bass guitarists Raphael Vanoli and Stephen Bruner (aka Thundercat) and saxophonist John Dikeman. All of these different contributions and approaches are weaved together into a whole by Van Dinther, armed with electronics and naivety. At times coherent, at times seemingly haphazard, the album is always joyful. “I tried to create something that is both tradition and me fooling around,” he explains. “There is something to be said for both sides of the spectrum. If we always remain in tradition there will be no evolution.”

1. Flake
2. Lose
3. Soup
4. Flu ft Arthur Verocai
5. Wrong
6. Meat
7. The Zoo ft Steve Kuhn
8. Crumble
9. Nail (Skit)
10. Toots
11. Teeth